Using the Site Backup Manager

From Documentation
Jump to: navigation, search

Using the Site Backup Manager

When you work collaboratively, need a history of revisions, or just like keeping your site protected in case of disaster, then Backup Manager features can be helpful in the design, development, and maintenance of your sites. With NetObjects Fusion's Backup Manager, you can easily restore a site's former content after it has been modified. The Backup Manager gives you the flexibility to make changes to your sites without worry of losing the site or having to re-create its content.

Understanding Backups

It is important to configure NetObjects Fusion to automatically create backups of your web design projects. With NetObjects Fusion's SiteSafe Backup Manager, you can automatically store backups on the Internet, local or external hard drives or a network location.

Having an up-to-date web site template stored off-site is the best way to prevent losing your website assets in the event of a catastrophic hard drive failure.

NetObjects Fusion is an HTML generator; the reason it's so shockingly easy-to-use is because it creates all of the code for you based on your WYSIWYG design. The Fusion file (.nod) is an object oriented database that stores the instructions for building your website; the website itself is only created when you publish it.

Explore Setting Backup Options.

Setting Backup Options

Before you can use the NetObjects Fusion SiteSafe Backup Manager, you must configure the settings in the Backup Manager Setup dialog:

  • From the Tools menu, choose Tools > Options > Current Site.
  • The Current Site Options dialog will appear. Now choose the Backups tab.

Netobjects-fusion-sitesafe-backup-settings.jpg

  • Specify the backup details:
  • Publish Profile used to store site backups. Select a Remote Publish Profile for storing backups off-site.
  • Repository Path. Enter the path where site backups will be stored in the selected Publish Profile. By default NetObjects Fusion generates an obfuscated, multi-level directory structure hidden with htaccess files to store the backup repository. Because the backup repository contains sensitive information, the repository path should not be accessible for browsing over the Internet. Contact your hosting provider for more information on finding a secure path to replace the obfuscated default.
  • Total size of site backups. Enter a maximum value (in megabytes) of server space to be allocated for site backups. You will be prompted to remove unneeded site backups when you exceed the amount of server space specified.
  • Total number of site backups. Specify a maximum number of backups that can be stored in the Backup Manager. You will be prompted to delete previous backups when you have exceeded the maximum number of backups allowed.
  1. Click OK.

Creating a Site Backup while Publishing

Creating a Site Backup without Publishing

To create a site backup without publishing:

  • From the File menu, choose File > Backup Manager
  • Click New.
  • In the Details fieldset, enter information, such as the backup name, author, and description, that will help you identify the specific backup should you need to restore it.

Create-an-online-backup-without-publishing.jpg

  • Click OK to create the site backup.
  • A backup of your website is transported to your Backup repository.

Creating a Site Backup while Publishing

To create a site backup while publishing:

  • Click Publish Site on the views bar.

Publish View.png

  • The Publish Site dialog box appears.
  • In the Publish files to drop-down menu, select the profile to which you want to publish your site.
  • Choose to publish the entire site or individual pages in the Pages to publish field.
  • To publish only those assets that have changed, check the Publish changed assets only check box.
  • Click the Publish a Site backup.
  • Click the Details button to enter version information, such as a name, author, and description, and then click OK.

Create-an-online-backup-while-publishing.jpg

  • Click Publish to publish the site and create a site backup in the SiteSafe Backup Manager.

Creating a Site Backup without Publishing or Exporting Connection Credentials.

Restoring a Site Backup

To restore a site backup:

  1. Choose Backup Manager from the File menu.

The Backup Manager dialog appears.

  1. Click the name of the backup you want to restore from the Name column.
  2. Click Rollback.

NetObjects Fusion retrieves a working copy of the site from the backup repository, and opens the site for editing so that you can review the site and make any needed changes.

Removing a Site Backup

To remove a site backup from the Backup Manager:

  1. Choose Backup Manager from the File menu.

The Backup Manager dialog appears.

  1. Click the name of the backup you want to remove in the Name column.
  2. Click Remove to permanently delete the selected backup.

This action cannot be undone.

Exporting Connection Credentials

When you create a website backup in the Backup Manager, NetObjects Fusion automatically creates a recovery file containing the credentials needed to restore a backup (.nfc file). To restore or rollback a website project from your SiteSafe Backup Repository, open the .nfc file with NetObjects Fusion to automatically connect to the Backup Manager and restore your website. The .nfc file also contains the website's publish profile settings so that a complete recovery from a catastrophic hard drive failure is easily accomplished.

  1. To export your SiteSafe Recovery Credentials the .nfc file, choose Backup Manager from the File menu.

The Backup Manager dialog appears.

Export-recovery-credentials.jpg

  1. Click the name of the backup you want to export from the Name column.
  2. Click Export Connection Credentials.

Only Backup Managers that utilize a remote profile can export their Connection Credentials.

The Save As dialog appears.

  1. In the Save in drop-down list box, select a location on your hard disk in which to save the .nfc file.
  2. Enter a name for the .nfc file in the File name field.
  3. Click Save to save the file to the location you specified.

Copy this file in one or more safe places that you will have access to in the event of a hard drive crash or a lost or stolen computer, etc. A cloud storage account, a USB thumb drive, a CD or even emailed to a trusted friend for safe-keeping are all options.

When you open the .nfc file, you will be connected to the Backup Manager repository and will restore your website for continued use.

Removing a Site Backup

Setting Options for Local Autosave

To set the options for the autosaved copies of your site, go to Tools > Current Site and select the Backups tab:

  • Naming convention. Choose a preferred naming convention for site autosaves. Site autosaves will be named using either the site name and version number or the site name and date the version was created, depending on which option you choose.
  • Backup location. Choose a location on your local hard disk to store autosaves of site files.
  • Total size of autosaves. Enter a maximum value (in megabytes) of hard disk space to be allocated for site autosaves. You will be prompted to remove previous autosaves when you exceed this value.
  • Total number of autosaves. Specify a maximum number of autosaves that can be stored on the local hard disk. You will be prompted to delete previous autosaves when you have exceeded the maximum number of autosaves allowed.